Benjamin Kamino in Allen Kaeja’s film Xtraordinary TO Dances: Moments In Reel Time. Photo by Drew Berry.


About the Solo Dance Xchange

A serendipitous exchange of dance making, where one dancer's solo becomes another’s inspiration to create and perform.

Produced by Kaeja d'Dance as part of Xtraordinary TO Dances (XTOD), the Solo Dance Xchange (SDX) is a platform for 22 extraordinary Toronto dance artists to intimately expose and fertilize each other's creative process with essences of what makes them who they are. A multiplicity of generations and practices, these artists will perform a 3-minute stage solo inspired by another's original improvised XTOD film footage, shot in the summer of 2017. This gateway between dance artists and their practices is a unique eye into what makes each dancer move and respond. 

A dream that Karen Kaeja has incubated for a decade, we invite you to join us for an ever-evolving evening of a collection of Xtraordinary solo dances, live music and a deeply engaging talk back. The original film, directed by Allen Kaeja, all shot in various locations within Toronto, will be screened before the show, each evening! Jenn Goodwin will moderate a performance-ending talkback each night.

Solo Dance Xchange is conceived by Karen Kaeja. Xtraordinary TO Dances was conceived and developed by Karen & Allen Kaeja.

Watch the XTOD: Moments in Reel Time trailer below featuring our 22 Xtraordinary dance artists from the Solo Dance Xchange!


*For large bookings or further reduction of ticket prices beyond, please contact Beata at


The Guloien Theatre

Streetcar Crowsnest (T.O.)

345 Carlaw Ave

Toronto, ON M4M 2T1



Thursday February 1, 2018                 

Friday February 2, 2018                         

Saturday February 3, 2018                 


Running Time


Solo Dance Xchange

Total (approx)

Talk Back 



Artistic Director

Karen Kaeja


Xtraordinary TO Dance Artists

Peggy Baker

Nova Bhattacharya

Shawn Byfield

Michael Caldwell

Robert Desrosiers

Esmeralda Enrique

Jasmyn Fyffe

Roshanak Jaberi

Allen Kaeja

Karen Kaeja

Benjamin Kamino

Hari Krishnan

Mi Young Kim

Emily Law

Claudia Moore

Pulga Muchochoma

Roula Said

Ofilio Sinbadinho

Santee Smith

Brian Solomon

Robert Stephen

William Yong


Soundscore created and performed live by SDXtet:

Eric Cadesky

Laurel MacDonald

Phil Strong

Xtraordinary TO Lighting Designer

Simon Rossiter


Publicity, Marketing and Public Relations

Sue Edworthy Arts Planning​

Generously supported by

Toronto Arts Council Strategic Funding

Bell Media